Kogan shares award to analyze politics' impact on learning

kogan2.6cc5a722 (2)TDA affiliate Vladimir Kogan, assistant professor of political science in the College of Arts and Sciences, and Stéphane Lavertu, associate professor in the John Glenn College of Public Affairs, have received a Lyle Spencer Research Award to help improve understanding of political institutions governing U.S. public education so that they might be designed to promote democratic accountability and the efficient provision of K-12 education. For the Education Governance and Accountability Project, Kogan, Lavertu and their co-principal investigator, Emory University political scientist Zachary Peskowitz, will collect a decade of data on local school district elections across 20 states and apply rigorous statistical techniques to understand how the politics of public education affect school administration, instruction and student learning. More

Share this page
Suggested Articles
Veeam Software Corporation gift endows funds in data analytics

A $5 million gift from Veeam Software Corporation will create a scholarship and endowed chair in data analytics within the College of Arts and Sciences. More

Why women select college majors with lower earnings potential

The “logics of major choice” is different for men and women By Jeff Grabmeier  |  OSU News Natasha Quadlin Even when both male and female college students say they want...

Check out TDAI in Ohio State Alumni magazine

An article in the new Ohio State Alumni magazine showcases Translational Data Analytics Institute faculty and programs and the university’s responsive approach to educating students in data science and analytics. Check...

NSF Data Analysis and Statistics Summer Internships

The National Science Foundation (NSF), National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) provides policy makers and the public high-quality information on the science and engineering enterprise. Their internship is ...

Huan Sun receives NSF CAREER Award

Huan Sun TDAI affiliate Huan Sun, assistant professor of Computer Science in the College of Engineering, has been awarded the National Science Foundation CAREER Award for her research on interactive...